Blooms of June

June has been rather a manic month for us, with lots of preparation for our final groundworks to be done here, alongside my more distant bridesmaid duties for my best friend, which took up rather more time than anticipated.

During these weeks, we snatched what limited time we could to keep up with the garden: daily watering of the greenhouse, weeding, planting and, of course, harvesting: salads, beans, mangetout, potatoes, beetroot, chard, raspberries and the last of the strawberries. There was little time for composing pictures or writing though, so apologies again for a rather sporadic presence at the minute.

Having missed the mid-month bloom day, and indeed rapidly approaching the end of the month, here are a few of my favourite flowers in the garden at the minute. The yellow rose (top) is flourishing since we cleared the shed end of the border; its buds emerge bright yellow streaked with red, then open into blooms of the lovely sunshine yellow above, which then fade slightly and blush with pink around the edges.

The tiny vermilion flowers on the achillea ‘Walther Funcke” are yawning in the sunshine, exposing their yellow hearts; from a distance this makes them appear a more orange/brick-red which more closely matches the plant’s description.

The knautia macedonica that I bought a few weeks’ ago at a nursery stand at our local farmers’ market is bedecked with beautiful burgundy buttons. Nearby, the red hobbit aquilegia brought back from Malvern is sprinkled with a second flush of flowers, its wine red and white complementing the tones in the knautia – though starting to clash rather with the achillea that is also nearby as it becomes more orange. Walther Funcke may need repositioning!

The first cosmos are beginning to bloom too. I sowed tall mixed Sensation and Candy Stripe: above is the first of the Sensations, adorned with a ladybird; across the garden the first Candy Stripe is already proving just as popular with the local wildlife.

The ladybird poppies have also embarked on a second flush of flowers, resplendent in scarlet and black.

Around the vegetable patch, the first bright blue star-flowers of borage have begun to emerge, the hairs on foliage and stems forming a halo when backlit by the sun. In the strangely flat light of dusk yesterday, where the twilight was reflected back to earth from low clouds, the borage flowers shone electric blue alongside the luminous orange calendula –  positively electrifying in the gloaming.

Buds on the red phlox paniculata, bought in the Malvern spring show, have begun to peep through the dark glossy leaves.

Not normally a fan of pelargoniums, which I associate with fussy gardens and the showy displays of annual bedding that don’t inspire me, I nevertheless grew on a few plants that I was given earlier this year at the village seed swap. I put three in a planter, figuring that they could be useful in brightening up the expanse of new paving that is now starting to be laid around the house, and the first buds are just fattening up.

Willow obligingly threw herself down for a few moments before racing off again, no doubt in search of more mice or field voles.

6 thoughts on “Blooms of June

  1. With such a wide range of blooms to choose from I’m sure the insects will be flocking to your garden in droves! I think there are a lot more bees around this year than of late. Maybe the warm dry Spring did them good. I also have a lot of Ladybirds, which is good because it is also prime time for greenfly and blackfly.

    • I hope so! I love the thrum of bees and butterflies around the borders. We haven’t seen many ladybirds yet, but then we still have a lot of garden that is either rubble or bare earth! We have lots of aphids this year though, sadly, something we’ve not really suffered from before. Broad beans have been badly attacked by blackfly, and I noticed a couple of stems on the runner beans are thick with them too, and the yellow rose has clusters around the buds, which I try to blast off with the hose.

  2. Hi Sara – scanned through all your June blooms :) Bit confused as left a comment on your very pretty Candy Stripe cosmos which is not the same as leaving a post message! Those ‘yawning hearts’ (nice expression!) of the Achillea will fill the bees’ pollen pockets dayglo orange.

    • Thanks Laura – yes it is rather misleading being able to comment on photos instead of the main post! I love the Candy Stripe cosmos – all the ones still in pots are starting to burst into flower now too, and I am really impatient for the building work to be finished so we can expand our borders and I can put them in the ground, in full bloom! Maybe next week… In the meantime, I’m having to water them assiduously in this heat!
      Sara x

  3. Love your red phlox Sara, beautiful plant. I’m new to achilleas, I have “moonwalker” just starting to flower, a soft golden yellow which actually works far better than I had dared hope, but I love your ‘Walther Funcke” even if it might need to be moved. My “Sonata” cosmos are just starting to flower too, really beautiful. I wouldn’t be without cosmos any more. We ate a feast of mange tout and peas last night, which has convinced me to grow even more next year if we are around long enough. Enjoy the gardening and good luck with the hard landscaping.

    • Thank you Janet. Yes I am impatiently watching the phlox unfurl. ‘Walther Funcke’ is our first achillea too, I think a few more will be slipping into the borders in the coming years! ‘Moonwalker’ looks a beautiful vibrant colour.

      This is the first time we’ve grown cosmos too; on this scale, at least – we briefly had a single chocolate cosmos in our last garden. I adore their flowers and foliage.

      Ah, we had a feast of mange tout and peas last night too – including the first purple podded ones (the peas inside are a pale green). Next time I will have to take pictures, they were all rather beautiful, but my husband was too hungry to wait while I ran off for the camera before we cooked them :-).

      The skeletons of the paths/drive/patio are in place, the next week should see so much change for us! Have a lovely weekend.

Comments are closed.