Bloom Day July 2011

After missing last month’s Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day, this month the blooms in our garden have multiplied so that it is hard to know where to begin. Or, more importantly, where to stop!

With beautiful ivory blooms, each dotted with the faintest pink centre on close inspection, the hydrangea paniculata ‘Bombshell’ is waiting for its new home to be cleared and dug over, but still brings a huge smile to my face – I can’t wait until these heads of flowers are nodding over the lawn from the border.

The yellow rose is still throwing out flower after flower. In this picture you can see the bright yellow of a fresh bloom, and behind it the dusty pink blush on the fading petals of an older flower. I love the colour progressions that this plant displays.

Continuing along this border by the field, ammi majus that I grew from seed are coming in to flower now, their delicate heads drifting above the foliage of cosmos.

Beside them, a mound of what I think must be leucanthemum that we inherited and managed to leave in situ in this border has spread and bloomed in its new freedom.

I like the slightly dishevelled petals on these daisies, giving just a gentle air of informality without fussiness.

Nearby, the echinacea purpurea that I raised from seed last year and over wintered in the vegetable patch are starting to flower for the first time. I love the neatly arranged spikes in the centre of the ring of petals just starting to form

Cosmos ‘Tall Sensation’ and ‘Candystripe’ are blooming throughout this border, so far in various shades of pink and white. This pink one has a face the size of a dinner plate… well side plate, then. Wonderfully big and flat, anyhow.

It complements the phlox paniculata ‘Starfire’┬áthat I bought at Malvern rather well; although this is starting to look a little tired now after a few weeks in flower.

We extended this border last weekend almost to its full extent, and I have been enthusiastically adding plants to it since – moving this phlox from its original position where it was suddenly swamped by the expansion of the leucanthemums and almost lost. The full reveal will have to wait for another post, but it means there has been a lot more going on in this border than ever before!

More cosmos are blooming across the other side of the garden, in the small square of border reclaimed last month. This one particularly caught my eye, with its slightly rolled petals, reminding me of some of the dahlias which exhibit similar curling.

The knautia macedonica that I planted here is still blooming magnificently; I love its rich dark red against the fresh green of the cosmos foliage around it.

Snapdragons are starting to bloom at the front of both borders, in whites and pinks, with some dark ‘Black Prince’ plants still to open – I am looking forward to their dark velvety red flowers.

But I shall pause there in the ornamental garden, with a last glimpse at the limnanthes that have begun to bloom in a pot alongside a red pelargonium, just beginning to open its buds.

More poached egg plants are just coming into bloom around the vegetable garden, hopefully bringing in hoverflies and other beneficial insects.

The vegetable garden is a sea of colour at the moment: beside the flowers on the vegetables themselves, hot orange and bright blue abound from the calendula and borage I raised from seed.

Here in this rich soil, several of the borage plants have expanded beyond all expectation until they are several feet across and at least three feet tall. Sadly, the time has come to repatriate some of these back to the ornamental garden, if I can find space, as they are starting to sprawl across the runner beans and the paths rather too rampantly. They are always covered in bees though…

Self sown nasturtiums from last year’s companion plants are starting to bloom now – so many appeared in the spring and early summer that I have been pulling them out by the fistful from the vegetable beds, and the half-dozen that I raised from seed are still in their pots as the beds already have more than their quota. I suspect I won’t need to grow these again for some years – and perhaps I should try and limit their seed-setting a little this year too!

The small wigwam of sweet peas in the squash/sweetcorn patch are now in flower, all dark red or white, sending their wonderful scent wafting across the air every time we pass.

The hard landscaping is complete, we still have a lot of work to do now: tidying up, redistributing piles of soil and preparing the ground for lawn or beds, but despite this the garden is a riot of colour. Not to mention the produce coming from the vegetable garden. Wonderful July.

20 thoughts on “Bloom Day July 2011

  1. What a gorgeous riot of colour. The shape of things to come! I like the look of that hydrangea, and isn’t Ammi a lovely plant? I’ve put a row in at the end of a bed up at the allotment, I’ve run out of room in the garden – something to do with too many tomatoes…

    • Suddenly parts of the garden are really coming together, if you look past the stacks of soil, cement mixer, rubble etc ;-) Yes I love the ammi, think I shall be growing it again – at the minute that whole border is full of similarly ethereal flowers, but in time it should come into its own to lighten up more robust plants.
      I’m not sure all the plants in pots and in the greenhouse will fit into the borders still to be dug – fingers crossed, there are still so many other plants we don’t have yet to fit in as well! :-) The benefits of your allotment are multiple!

    • Happy GBBD! I think I warned that this year the borders would be something of a rainbow as they come/are developed… Pretty though!

  2. Nice photos today. I particularly enjoyed the white selections. Don’t you just love them on moonlit nights like we have right now?
    nellie

    • Thank you – yes I love the glow of the whites in twilight/moonlight. Though I must confess we’ve probably been asleep most nights this week before it was fully dark, to keep up with our early morning starts…

  3. A lovely display of colour. My preference is for the “hot” colours, so I like the Knautia, the Nasturtium and the Burgundy-coloured Sweet Pea best. How long do Nasturtiums take to flower? I have some that I sowed very late – they are currently little tiny seedlings a couple of inches tall. Do you think they will flower this year?

    • I love the deep colours too, especially the red of the knautia and sweet peas, but I also enjoy the more ethereal white and pastels – don’t think I could choose between them.
      Oh I should think your nasturtiums will be flowering before you know it – in my experience they start while quite small, then plant and blooms quickly expand to take over the garden within a blink while your back is turned ;-) I think they will surprise you!

  4. You have done well. My Cosmos are sad little spindly things and I forgot to sow my Ammi Majus!!

    I am really impresssed with the Echineau as I have never managed to get it to grow from seed.

    All looks fab

    • Thanks Helen! My cosmos are rather defying the odds since they have been getting rather pot bound in tiny pots since germinating – most of them gave up waiting and started flowering in their pots. I still have a dozen or so to go in, if they can hold on, though they are a bit spindly too. The ammi majus is rather lovely.
      I’ve found the echinacea germinate really well – I sowed more this year too – though they’ve impressed me particularly with their stamina. When I sowed last year’s seeds it was with the hope they would have somewhere in the garden to go, and in the end I had to jam them into a space in the vegetable garden late in the year, where they didn’t do much. I was surprised to see signs of life this spring when we went to dig over the vegetable garden for planting, and potted them up, where they really bulked up over the months before I could finally plant them out. I’m really excited that they are on the cusp of flowering.

  5. Your blooms speak volumes for soil and sower, Sara. Some stunners here but Ammi majus plucks the heart strings with its lacy simplicity. Do you have a special fondness for the plants that you have nurtured from birth?

    • Thanks Laura. Our soil is rather heavy clay – full of goodness, but with a definite tendency to form concrete or sludge :-) I think I do have a particular soft spot for the plants that I’ve watched germinate and grow, especially those that have struggled more.

  6. Lovely, lovely, lovely hydrangea – that is already stunning; just imagine what it will be like when in position. And the ammi is new to me, but I want one, now!

    (Must remember to have some borage with my calendulas next year – great combination…)

    • I know! The hydrangea is magnificent, everything I wanted from a hydrangea. And not too big for our garden…
      Just make sure to leave the borage a lot of space if you plant it in good soil – ours are mutant, I tell you, mutant.

  7. Lovely flowers and great photos (as always). My poor cutting beds have been very neglected this year, we have a rabbit living in the vegetable patch that I can’t catch and it favours eating the new flower seedlings as they emerge.

    I love ammi majus and cosmos, hopefully some will make a late showing as I’ve attempted to rabbit proof the beds this week.

    Bethx

    • Thanks, Beth. Very sad about your resident rabbit devouring all your seedlings… hope that you are successful in your rabbit proofing! x

Comments are closed.