Mid-January Blooms

Saturday saw our first frost of the year, which iced the garden and surrounding landscape. Today was a degree or two milder, though a stiff icy breeze still danced across as I hopped out into the garden in the morning to take pictures of what’s in bloom.

Omphalodes, snowdrops and pulmonaria flowers in January

I have already mentioned in a previous post the small blue flowers of the Omphalodes ‘Cherry Ingram’ and the first dangling snowdrop flowers about to open; alongside these, the pulmonarias have also begun to produce their first mauve flowers.

Alpine strawberry, wild primrose, geranium macrorrhizum flowers in January

The alpine strawberry, which came from my mum and dad’s garden, has an unexpected flower. Across the garden, the wild primroses are spilling with blooms, and most of the clumps of Geranium macrorrhizum are sprinkled with magenta.

Cyclamen coum 'Maurice Dryden'

Both pots of Cyclamen coum ‘Maurice Dryden’ on the patio are covered in flowers. I love their gentle tints of purple, and the beautiful leaves.

The aubretia, raised from seed last year, continues to produce occasional flowers in various shades of purple, and the neighbouring Centranthus ruber also has small clusters of pink (although the white plant has finally taken a rest). One of the roses saved from the original garden and planted in the front borders has a pale bud, battling with the cold weather to bloom, and the pyracantha is still flowering, alongside a winter jasmine.

pyracantha and winter jasmine flowering together in January

Another out-of-season special is the Knautia macedonica, which continues to send up its beautiful crimson buttons, such a vivid splash of colour in the winter garden.

Knautia macedonica, blooming in January

There are a couple of daisies in the grass, too; dicing with the weather. An interesting mix of flowers, spanning different seasons.

Visit May Dreams Gardens to see what else is flowering around the world on this Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day.

16 thoughts on “Mid-January Blooms

    • The garden does seem very confused. I just hope that the plants hanging on from last year have a rest soon to come again this year, and that those plants eagerly peeking out early don’t get bitten by a cold spell!

  1. How I love the little cyclamens… the only one that I am aware of that is quite hardy here is purpurascens. I keep getting tempted by the coums and hederifoliums though…they certainly are special! Larry

    • I’m very taken with them myself. I’ll plant them out into the garden this year, and add a few more varieties in time, but the foliage and flowers of these are rather lovely.

  2. How strange this winter is all around the world. My Italian garden has more roses in bloom than in September and in California, where I spent Christmas and the New Year the weather was unseasonably warm and clear and no snow where normally there would be several feet! I love the Knautia macedonica, I must get some seed to grow this, it should do well here. Have a great gardening 2012, and I look foreward to seeing progress in your garden. Christina

    • A very unusual winter indeed. I’m hoping the K.m. self seeds gently about the garden, it is such a pretty plant – I hope that they establish well with you, they should do. I look forward to following your gardening year too, Sara.

  3. Its lovely to spot the first signs of spring in the garden, especially when it looks like winter has arrived. I had hoped we might have escaped the worst of the winter but it still is only the middle of January so a little bit to go before we can say goodbye to winter.

    • Yes, this morning’s frost was still on the ground this evening, very chilly. Satisfying in some way, though, to experience a little real winter, as long as the garden doesn’t suffer too much from the timing.

  4. Wow I’m amazed how much you have flowering, there’s not a lot going on here, lots of green sprouting in readiness but no flowers, probably a good thing as we’ve had heavy frost most mornings for the past few weeks. You make me eager for colour in our garden now, roll on Spring. Bethx

Comments are closed.