Start

After yesterday’s washout, and a wet start this morning, the sun at last came out.

I'm In The Garden

The perfect opportunity for my first foray into the garden for the year. The ground is too wet for serious work (those weeds and excess teasel seedlings towards the back of the border will have to wait) but I have potted on the Mahonia nitens ‘Cabaret’ that I received for Christmas, trimmed the hawthorn hedge at the end of the garden and poked about the borders, pulling up brambles and investigating lots of promising shoots that are pushing their way up already.

Here’s to a fine gardening year ahead for us all! Wishing you all the best for this shiny new year.

16 thoughts on “Start

  1. Happy New Year! It was sunny here too today; I pushed aside other jobs and got out in the garden. They say it will be wet (again) for the next 7 days so it felt good to be able to start the year with a day outside! Let’s hope it’s a good year for us all!

  2. Hope 2014 is good to you. I had an hour fiddling in the garden but like you it was so wet it was difficult to really do much

    • And to you too, Helen. It was lovely to get outside, even with the ground so wet. I think the next few days will be knitting-days rather than gardening ones!

  3. Hope the year will carry on as enjoyably as it is starting for you. Some of my plants are melting in the wet. Worrying my bulbs are rotting but can hardly dig them up to find out. On the other hand, though we are wind-buffeted we have power (though it flickers) and are not flooded. We’re getting off lightly. Exciting times, eh? (Though I’m glad I’m not a subsistence farmer.)

    • Yes we too are sodden and wind-battered, but there is no obvious damage and we too have our power – a great improvement over the plight of many in the UK at the minute!

  4. Glad to read that you were able to have a good potter in the garden. I nearly got carried away but for my cold hands which sent me back inside after an hour or so yesterday afternoon. I hope that the new year treats you and your garden kindly Sara :)

    • It was a lovely interlude, even felt warm in the sun. It would be great if the rains would cease and the ground dry out for some serious work, but hey ho! All the best to you and your garden for this year too.

Comments are closed.