The Power Of Five

Outside, buds on the early daffodils are still resolutely closed on short stubby stems; but spring has come early to one windowsill inside.

Flowers on jade plant, Crassula ovata

We have but a handful of house-plants; mostly due to family allergies; this limitation is additionally wise, as I can be rather inconsistent at giving indoor plants the same attention as those outdoors. C’est la vie.

Flowers on jade plant, Crassula ovata

Our jade plant  is one of those few that survive my sporadic indoor ministrations. I’ve had it for many years, grown from a leaf of my Mum’s plant, as these are plants that propagate easily from leaves or cuttings.  Crassula ovata, also known as the money plant, is an easy house-guest;  more likely to expire due to over-watering than under-watering, and thus impervious to a fair amount of neglect. It grows fairly slowly (making it a popular choice for bonsai) with attractive bark, and waxy oval leaves. A red tinge to the foliage is common in many plants, and there is even an AGM cultivar which has been bred to emphasise this colouring.

Detail of bark and leaves of jade plant, Crassula ovata

There must be something favourable about the south-facing windowsill where my plant has been making its home, as in the past few weeks it has unfurled sprays of these beautiful white starry flowers.

Crassula ovata flower

The petals have a slight sparkle to them, particularly in the sun, with the slightest hint of pink. Studying these flowers closely, I also can’t help but be struck by their affinity with fives: five petals, five sepals, five stamens, five carpels. There are probably more fives in there, but my flower anatomy is rather shaky…

As I am writing this, it strikes me that it is also five years to the day since all the appropriate pieces of paper were signed and delivered, and we took possession of this house and garden – embarking on rather more work than we’d initially bargained for, of course! The results of our efforts, though, have paid off; and while I am waiting for the spring flowers in the garden to unfurl and herald the new growing season, these beautiful flowers, with their perfect symmetry, are something to revel in.

Crassula ovata flower

Here’s to the next five years on our hilltop! I wonder what those years will bring…

16 thoughts on “The Power Of Five

  1. Congratulation on five years in your house; we had our house in the countryside for just over seven, it amazes me how it has changed. Like you I’m not very good with house -plants (what a ridiculous name,) but I like the dainty flowers of your plant.

  2. It was a surprise to scroll down and find this was the flower of Crassula ovata, I had not seen it flower before, its very lovely and lovely photographs too! Congratulations on your five year anniversary.

  3. My money plant is no more Sara. It did flower but I’d forgotten how striking the flowers are which your close ups illustrate. A high-five on reaching five years on your hilltop!

  4. Wow – I never knew this could flower, either! I’m with you on the house plants – no guarantee I would remember to look after them although at one time I had dozens, but that was before the need to make a proper garden overtook me I suppose. I am so glad you found your ‘home’ – we have been here 17 years and anything before that is purely history and there can never be another home for us. It’s a lovely feeling, isn’t it?

  5. I never knew that this plant flowered either and what pretty flowers too. I’ll treat mine with a little more respect now that I know what it can do if it puts its mind to it.

  6. Oooh, you make me want to hang on to the little money plant we were given by someone we collected some stuff from via Freecycle! Maybe when we have been here for 5 years ours will flower… Enjoy your next 5 years in your lovely cottage – I had to catch myself yesterday, I told a delivery man we moved here last year, but of course that’s no longer true! How time flies.

    • I neglect our poor plant terribly, having abandoned it to its windowsill and rarely remembering to water it. I’m amazed that it seems to enjoy this regimen so much – or perhaps it is flowering in an attempt to draw attention to its plight … :)
      Wow, over a year already!

Comments are closed.