First Earlies

We are sadly starting to come towards the end of our first early potatoes. Every night for weeks we have been digging up a plant or two, giving the tubers a quick wash before plunging them into a pan of boiling water on the stove for a few minutes until they start to soften, and eating them still warm.

With every meal, I confess I am newly amazed at their sweetness; the flavours of home grown potatoes are unlike anything I have ever tasted from a shop. I shall continue to savour them until the last half-row of plants has been harvested – they should last us a few more meals yet.

In the meantime, we have already reclaimed the space liberated so far to plant out some of our winter cabbages and our third crop of broad bean plants. And there are three rows of our maincrop potatoes in flower waiting to be harvested in the weeks to come…

maris piper

Potato: Arran Pilot First Early

3 thoughts on “First Earlies

  1. Dear Hillwards, Although I do not grow any vegetables myself, I do so agree that the taste of potatoes dug straight from the earth is quite different from anything shop bought. In Budapest, where I live for much of my time, I am fortunate to have a market close by and so enjoy fresh produce brought into the city from country gardens.

    I am pleased to see that you are a newcomer to Blotanical and am making your weblog a ‘Favourite’ in order to follow your progress.

  2. Dear Edith,

    Thank you for your comment, and encouragement. Your travels sound fascinating, and I look forward to browsing your own blog and finding out more.
    We try and source what we don’t grow ourselves from our local farmer’s market too – you really can’t beat fresh produce.

    Sara

  3. Pingback: Harvest First Early Potatoes « Gardora.net

Comments are closed.