Blooms, Berries and Butterflies

The magenta buddleia has been vibrant with colour for the past few weeks.

As anticipated, it is always humming happily with hoverflies and bees,

and swarming with butterflies. Besides the cabbage whites (*scowl*) we regularly see the velvety red admirals, often two or three to a flower head,

and small tortoiseshells, with their beautiful hem of blue eyes.

The bees can also be found enjoying the giant blooms of the sunflowers

and the more delicate crocosmia blooms; this yellow one suddenly appeared in a shady corner beside the shed, a change from the deeper orange cultivars that arch their necks gracefully over the remains of the borders near the house.

I love the way that this crocosmia lights up the dark space here beneath the trees; the orange tips of its buds seem to glow, while the open flowers shine brightly.

In the vegetable patch, the two asters are coming into their own; the pink one flowering freely,

while the first lemon yellow flower that opened on the other plant has settled into a pale apricot colour, with more buds about to open.

The beautiful purple poppies are still flowering profusely; the number of blooms is well into double figures now

Alongside the flowers, fat seed heads are ripening in the sun under my daily scrutiny as I wait to gather the seeds, and yet more buds are still waiting to unfurl their magic, slowly shrugging off their sepals one by one…

At the very bottom of the garden, in the corner behind our compost bins, the hawthorn tree is liberally sprinkled with red berries: a feast for the birds.

Blackberries are ripening for us on the wild brambles that scramble over from the fields, and the blackthorn tree by our front gate has plump blue/black sloes tempting us as we pass. I think it’s almost time to go foraging again…

10 thoughts on “Blooms, Berries and Butterflies

  1. Dear Sara, A sequence of lovely images in a garden where wildlife matters. It is, as you so obviously believe, terribly important that we encourage birds, bees, butterflies, et al into our gardens. You are doing a splendid job here. THe berries are lovely – what a shame the birds will have them!!

  2. Hello Sara – what a prolific post of beauty and wildlife in your fabulous photos. My buddleias are completely bare of butterflies suggesting a more serious problem than food sources.
    That pearl pink aster is divine

    Laura x

    • Hello Laura. Thank you. What a shame that your buddleias haven’t brought the butterflies this year, perhaps they haven’t yet found their way to your oasis of colour in the concrete city, S x.

    • Thanks Carol. I am still utterly entranced by the poppy! The light was really interesting when I photographed the bud; it feels really intimate somehow, I’m really pleased with that picture. Sadly, I’ve never seen a Cedar Waxwing. I don’t think that they migrate outside the United States and Canada? There are birds galore hopping in and out of our hawthorn though, I have to brush up my identification skills which are rather minimal!

  3. Beautiful photos! The Buddleia has me in its grasp…I love it, almost as much as the hummers do! I also have to give poppies a try. I’ve not seen any in my neck of the woods, so it may not be possible, but I still might give a few seeds a shot. Yours is lovely!

    • Thanks Kimberley. Poppies are wonderful, we’ll have to move our one soon to avoid it being trampled on – I just hope that it survives and we get lots of fresh seed for more!

Comments are closed.