Courgette Cake

This week I tried another courgette cake recipe, this time from Nigel Slater.

It doesn’t use up much of the glut, but every little helps, and King Of The Hill can never have too much cake. My modifications are in bold below.

Courgette Cake

Courgettes have the ability to make a cake as moist and sweet as if you added ground almonds to the recipe.

Serves 6.

200g butter (I used dairy free spread)
200g caster sugar
2 eggs
150g courgettes (about 2 small ones)
1 small apple
200g plain flour (I used gluten free plain flour)
a large pinch salt
½ tsp baking powder
pinch cinnamon
60g pecans (I used chopped hazelnuts)
80g sultanas (half cup, packed)

Preheat oven at 180C/gas mark 4. Butter and line the base of a loaf tin measuring 20cm x 12cm x 9cm deep. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat the eggs and mix them in, one at a time, making sure each is fully incorporated before adding the next. Coarsely grate the courgettes and the apple. Squeeze them with your hands to remove any excess moisture, then add to the mixture. Mix the flour, salt, baking powder and cinnamon, and gently fold into the mixture. Stir in the nuts and fruit. Transfer to the lined loaf tin and bake for about an hour, or until golden and firm to the touch. Allow to cool in the tin before turning out.

I definitely need to find some metal skewers to test my cakes discreetly, rather than mutilating them by sticking a knife in the top – please excuse the slash marks.  And the uneven greaseproof paper lining…

I’ve yet to taste it as I’ve had a tummy bug for a couple of days, but it has a resounding seal of approval from King Of The Hill. I may have neglected to tell him yet that it has courgettes in it…

12 thoughts on “Courgette Cake

  1. It looks great. Thanks for sharing. I love Nigel Slater. I must dig out a recipe for Courgette Cake given to me by some old Canadian friends It was dee-lish-us! Keep up the good work and hope the bug goes soon so you can tuck in!

    • Thank you. I hope there’s some left for me to try too! And if you find your recipe do nudge me in its general direction, we have a lot of courgettes still!

  2. Dear Sara, I am so sorry to learn that you have a tummy upset and do hope that by now you are feeling more yourself.

    Well, despite some misgivings I should have about a courgette cake, it really does look very delicious and I should certainly not refuse a slice with a cup of tea in the afternoon. Generally, I am told, Nigel Slater is quite a reliable cook and the results you show indicate that you are even more so.

    • Dear Edith, Thank you for your kind words. I am feeling much better today, and managed to share a slice of cake with my husband yesterday evening. It was very enjoyable although I don’t believe that courgette cake will ever quite match a non-vegetable cake for taste or texture. A fun way to use up a small amount of courgettes though! I’ll have to do some more serious cooking with the rest over the weekend. Hope that you have a lovely weekend.

    • Hi Carol,
      Thank you, I’m feeling much better today (especially as it’s Friday and I have a couple of days to divide between the house and the garden without pesky work getting in the way…). Ah you’re dairy free too? I’m quite pleased with how the cakes are turning out with the substitutions. There still appears to be enough cake left that I should get a slice to myself over this weekend – and then I’d better find a new recipe to try! Have a lovely weekend.
      S x

Comments are closed.