Seeds and Sedum

Last weekend saw us racing around madly; trying to fit too many things in, including two return trips to Birmingham. Nonetheless we still managed to grab some time in the garden on both days (but not enough – already it feels as though the season is starting to race ahead of us!).

With bright fresh growth springing up on both the hydrangea and sedums, I finally took a pair of secateurs to them and removed their tired flowerheads, which have withstood the ravages of winter, lending an elegant architecture to the dilapidated border through wind, rain, sleet and snow.

I cut back a tangle of brambles that were running riot through these brittle branches; exposing three beautiful cushions of fleshy green whorls, to which I cut back the hollow sedum stalks.

I also finally pushed myself to deal with a vase swimming with young sedum plants that has been languishing upon the kitchen windowsill since the autumn, when I threw a couple of pink sedum heads and hydrangea flowers into a vase to brighten up the windowsill. You may remember my surprise at the fine tangle of threadlike roots, and subsequent new growth, that soon filled the vase.

I took the six healthiest plants to the greenhouse and potted them up – they sprawled over the edge of their new homes after potting, but a drop of water and a little sunshine and they soon sprang back up. Alongside the three already in the garden we could well be overrun with sedum before long!  Indeed, I suspect that I will give most of these plants away to good homes – and I have the perfect opportunity coming up…

Our frantic pace did not abate as the week began, and so I find the week half gone before I have a chance to sit and draw breath. After a meeting of our village society last night (the committee of which I found myself co-opted on to last year – but that is a story for another day), my mind continued to race after I was home and the lights were out. My suggestion for a community seed swap has been seized; last night we finalised a date, and there are a myriad of tasks now to plan and execute.

I am rather excited though; nothing of this sort has taken place around here before, and yet there are a lot of keen gardeners around us and I really hope that it will be a success – hopefully complementing our village show which takes place each August and attracts a good crowd and a range of entries. It will be a late event, in three or four weeks’ time; many seed swaps across the country have already been and gone, and indeed when I raised the question back in the autumn I had hoped that we could finalise something for February or March, but there is a measured pace within our small community society and innovations take time to percolate! The important thing is that we are up and indeed running. Now to design some posters, flyers and an advert for the newsletter… And there’s the stack of seeds, new and old, waiting to be sown by us, never mind swapping them!

8 thoughts on “Seeds and Sedum

  1. Beautiful sedums – and I’m sure you will find a good home for the excess. Congrats on getting the seed swap set up, sounds exciting and a lot of hard work. Hope it goes really well. It might be a little slow to get going on things, but it sounds as if you have landed in a great community.

    • Thanks Janet – it was good to discover how many sedums there were amid the tangle of brambles and bloated hedge! I didn’t know they were there until they flowered so prettily in the autumn, fascinating to see their neat green mounds (amid more primroses).
      Our village is indeed lovely, and there are a core of people who work really hard on various committees to keep the community alive. It really makes a difference, and I hope I can help a bit too.

  2. Why have I got an image in my mind of the parish meetings in “The Vicar of Dibley”??? I’m sure you will have things better organised! 🙂

    • Heh 🙂 Yes things are a little more organised with us. No thanks to me though! I’m pretty quiet at our bi-monthly meetings, as the newbie to the village, but it’s good to be involved, and a great way to meet more people beyond our neighbours.

  3. There’s more activity in your part of the world than here in Central London where at the moment reams of pavements are being revamped – about as as exciting as watching washing dry. I am going to try the Sedum cutting trick this year and wondered if and when you split your clumps?

    • I haven’t tried splitting clumps yet, but I don’t think it is too fussy about when it is done. I think that mid-spring is probably a good time, as it will give the plants time to settle in before the real growth spurt and later flowering. Sounds as though another cold snap is on its way soon though, so I would hold off until that has passed. Otherwise I would do it in autumn once the flowers are fading.

  4. Hi….inovations take time to percolate..what a lovely phrase.. all the best for the seed swopping…when i cut the stems of the sedum down i know that spring is close and, as you say, the green whorls are fresh and a delight…

    • Thank you! Yes, I had never really seen the spring growth of sedums before (I only knew they were there when the flowers emerged above the dereliction late last summer). Generally I’m not very keen on succulents, but these are not as “flabby” as many, and I loved their colour last autumn, and their flowerheads through the winter. The scent of spring definitely seems to be on the air these past few days…

Comments are closed.