GBBD: April 2011

Has it really been another month? Already?

So, today is Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day and the daffodils are now almost over (and mostly deadheaded). The garden is quiet on the bloom front, in its state of suspended animation, but there are still a few flowers to raise a smile.

Windswept pansies are still clinging on in their pots, no longer towered over by the golden trumpets of Tenby daffodils; and the primroses scattered across the garden, some in pots and some sprawling in the ground, are still full of smiling pale faces.

A pot of tulips that my mum gave to us (must ask her if she knows their name!) brings a vivid splash of colour to the front door step, slightly tousled by the south westerly winds.

A pulmonaria that I acquired at the village seed swap a few weeks ago and potted up temporarily shyly hangs its beautiful pink and purple flowers.  Nearby, the muscari in the non-hanging basket are coming to the end of their display.

One brave bluebell has burst into flower in the compacted earth at the front of the extension, while beneath the native hedge at the bottom of the garden are a couple of its siblings which I rescued before the diggers came and hastily dug into the bank here.

While tight clusters of buds are forming on the cornus alba that my mum bought me for my birthday at the National Garden of Wales on our visit last winter, and more clusters of buds can be found on the holly and hawthorn trees, most of the remaining blooms in the garden bring the promise of fruit to come.

The strawberries are flowering gently. Nearby, the summer-fruiting raspberries hold clusters of buds that are yet to open.

The pear cordons, one Conference and one Beurre Hardy, are still covered in blowsy white blossom, but now beginning to shower the ground with their petals.

The apple espaliers both have a modest scattering of fat pink buds, just beginning to open into pale flowers; Kidds Orange Red

and Beauty of Bath.

And all across the garden, popping up faster than I can dig them out, hiding beneath old pallets and bits of wood until suddenly bursting into flower, we have the pretty but frustrating dandelions…

This weekend, I’m hoping to draw up plans for the garden-to-be, and perhaps we can then return to the ground some of the plants that we have rescued which patiently stand in pots awaiting repatriation. Not to mention all the seedlings that need pricking out and potting on in the greenhouse…


10 thoughts on “GBBD: April 2011

  1. It is scary just how quickly time is speeding up. After all those endless, cold, wet and non-eventful winter days I barely have time now, to crouch down and admire a daffodil before I’m pulling off it’s dead flower head and throwing it in a trug bucket.

    And as for dandelions – I can’t help but imagine a world where they are incredibly difficult to germinate and to grow. Imagine then, the furore over that pretty flower and truly awesome seed head.

    Dave

    • Yes indeed; strange how true the old adage is that a weed is just a plant growing in the wrong place. Dandelions are so vivid, and their clocks so lovely … if only they didn’t spread like wildfire!

  2. The most striking image in this set is the Dandelion. What a shame we regard this plant as a weed, when its flower is so beautiful (and we can eat its blanched leaves too).

  3. I love that Pulmonaria Sara. A garden plan in a weekend?! I don’t believe you! Only if it has been simmering in your brain for months, if not years, and you are finally going to commit some of it to paper, or even the ground 😉 Exciting to think of some of your plants finding “proper” homes to thrive in, and lovely to see your apples and pears flowering away, I hope you get a really good crop. And look forward to seeing your plans take shape.

    • Heh, okay hands up, I haven’t committed a plan for the whole garden to paper yet. I do indeed carry one in my head, simmering nicely, though the more attention I pay it, the more I realise that it’s intended size and scale far outweighs what we have available! The art will be fitting in as much as we can to what we do have, without it looking awkward…

    • Yes, I love pulmonarias, and hope to have many in the years to come – such wonderful shades, I love the way one stalk can hold such varied flowers.

  4. Oh lots of lovely soft colours. I am sure this is a bumper year for dandelions, there seem to be so many of them this year

    • With the exception of the tulips and those pesky dandelions, it does seem to be quite a muted palette, more by accident than design. I managed to save some of the big scarlet opium poppies from one of the borders which I shall pop back in accompanied by some other hot colours near the house… one of these days!

Comments are closed.