A Family Affair

Over the weekend, my dad did a sterling job of digging out the invading weeds in the raspberry patch, while King of the Hill put in the first two tiers of a post and wire support for the two rows of summer-fruiting raspberries, and I finally tied up this year’s fruiting canes, just as the first fruits begin to ripen.

This area is looking very tidy again now, with ruby jewels gleaming on the three rows of strawberry plants at the front, and among the raspberry canes. Brambles and ivy tend to creep in here from next door, along with the usual nettles, dandelions and creeping buttercup that spring up everywhere, so it will require vigilance to keep this patch so clear, but at the minute it is rather wonderful. Good teamwork!

King of the Hill then built the outdoor staging that he had planned, which was then placed in front of one of the woodstores, and subsequently loaded with the trays of plants that are hardening off, or waiting to go into the ground. The paths around the veg patch are looking a little more tidy now too, without this clutter of trays and pots.

Whilst King of the Hill moved on to building a potting bench for my mum to take home, and dad wrestled weeds, mum and I busied ourselves finding homes for some of the car-load of plants that my parents had brought up with them. Our two fledgling mini-borders now have alchemilla mollis, geraniums and a Cornus Sanguinea ‘Midwinter Fire’ from my parents garden added to them, with many more pots added to our collective to be planted when we reclaim more of the borders.

A few plant purchases were made over the weekend too, including a Knautia Macedonica which lured me from a local nursery’s stand at the farmers’ market. This has gone into the small sub-border along the fence, where a beautiful dark red button now dances in the sunshine. Nearby, the achillea bought at Malvern has come into bloom with the most beautiful deep vermilion flowers.

Across in the opposite border along the field, the red oriental poppy that I dug up before the fencing works began, and finally planted out last week to avoid it drying out so much in its pot, has begun to show a peep of its red skirts. What a tease!

At the front of the house, we inherited a rambling rose that we had to cut back hard in order to re-render the house two years ago. Planted at the very edge of the house, I lightly trained the regrowth along the adjacent fence instead of back up the house, which meant that we didn’t need to cut it back again in order to paint the house. This week it has begun to flower exuberantly, covered with pale pink flowers and hundreds of buds still to open.

I am loving these little glimpses of summer, not to mention long days in the garden with family and friends, barbecues and bees.

7 thoughts on “A Family Affair

  1. I love the rose rambling everywhere-it looks like Albertine, which has a wonderful scent that always reminds me of midsummer evenings.

    • Thank you – I hadn’t been aware of a scent to our rose, so went for a good sniff yesterday evening, but it only had the faintest sweet scent. It does look rather like Albertine though…

  2. You are lucky having such a good team!
    The rose looks beautiful!
    I wish I had the space to grow strawberries now, it’s costing me a fortune buying them every week – I just can’t resist when they are British! We have lots of raspberries in a very small patch of garden in the back yard but I’m not really a lover of them and they don’t go with Pimms really! The Lovely neighbour usually picks them if the blackbirds don’t get them first.

    • Thank you. Ah just think how many strawberries you’ll be able to grow by next year in your new acreage! I love raspberries every bit as much as strawberries, though it’s true they don’t really work with Pimms :-).

  3. wonderful progress Sara, it starts to make all the hard work worth while, as both of you have gardening parents it’s nice to see you are following on, it’s also so nice to have plants in your garden from theirs as the plants can have memories and meaning, I love the plants from my parents garden especially as my mum moved into sheltered housing nearly 2 years ago so there is no longer access to their garden, Frances

Comments are closed.