August Blooms

There are more flowers in the garden than ever this month, as plants start to settle into their stride in the pockets of borders we have made so far.

The tall cosmos in shades of white and pink brighten up both sides of the garden, I particularly enjoy the vivid jewel tones amid lush green foliage.

In the field border, the rudbeckia (R. fulgida var. speciosa) are flowering, their golden tones illuminating the dark leaves of the sambucus nigra behind, just as I envisaged when I planted them here. It’s so pleasing when something translates well from your mind’s eye to reality… especially as it’s quite rare for me to have such a strong image in mind. The effect should become even bolder in future as both plants settle in and expand.

This splash of warm sunshine at the back really lifts the otherwise cool border. I didn’t think I would want too many hot colours in this border, but now I am thinking that some helenium ‘Moerheim Beauty’ would make rather a good addition in future too. Meanwhile, the ammi majus and echinacea purpurea continue to add drama to this border in their more muted colour palette alongside the cosmos.

Spires of larkspurs stud the border in shades of deep purple, ethereal white and candy pink. I’m not a huge fan of this shade of pink, but with deep orange calendula and sky blue borage sprawled around its ankles (not quite captured in this shot) it make a strangely alluring combination glimpsed from the house and I can’t quite bring myself to dislike it as much as I thought.

The nearby rose has put on a second flush, bringing a few more glimpses of gold to this end of the border.

Against the shed, the clematis ‘Nelly Moser’ has been released from its pot and has begun to climb gingerly up the trellis we installed a few weeks ago.

In time, this should make a good backdrop for this border when viewed from the house as it scrambles up the shed behind the birches.

The buddleia has leapt into bloom in the past few weeks also. Once again I love its deep magenta spires of flowers, that are already frequently covered in butterflies, notably the red admiral so far. I am full of admiration for this plant that has survived several attempts on its life in the past year during the construction work – a tale to amuse in a future post.

Nearby, the leucanthemum have really begun to sprawl now, almost obliterating some of the plants around the margins of their clump – I must remember to stake this innocuous looking clump early in the year next year, to keep the daisies within some confines and prevent the slightly flattened look they are now starting to show. Around them, those delicious purple poppies are reaching their last few flowers, while their seed pots stand bold.

They have almost swallowed up the magnificent velvety dark red snapdragon ‘Black Prince’ that my mum gave me. Hard to capture just how textured these flowers are, or their deep dark colour, which lights up in the sunlight to glow scarlet, but is a sultry almost black velour when not in the spotlight.

The hydrangea paniculata ‘Bombshell’ continues to flower patiently in its pot, waiting for some more digging and earth-moving to find it a home.

And just outside the kitchen doors, the unknown agapanthus bought from Crocus is covered in beautiful blooms.

Ah, August, such a riot of colour despite the quickening days.

Thanks to Carol at May Dreams Gardens for hosting this month’s Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day.

16 thoughts on “August Blooms

  1. What a colorful border. I have been clipping my black-eyed susans in the hope to have some left at the end of August when we expect about 50 people to visit. So many of my plants here are quickly going to seed. The goldfinches like it but I would like the color to stick around a bit longer.
    I agree with you. It is wonderful when our plans work out so well when moved from our minds into the dirt.
    nellie

    • We’ve not yet seen goldfinches here: either they avoid this rural location or I just haven’t spotted them, I’m still learning to recognise the birds we see. The pied wagtail is the latest new spot for us.

    • Ah, a few months spent poring over the RHS encyclopaedia while watching the plants through the seasons and you’ll be spouting the latin off to everyone who comes to see you! Or you could do a “name this plant” post 🙂
      Your new garden looks fabulous, so much space and potential!

  2. The Red Admirals haven’t discovered my new Buddleia yet. I wish they would! When we moved into our present house, 20 years ago, our neighbours had lots of Buddleia bushes, and they were always covered in butterflies – often 20 or 30 Red Admirals at a time. These days I reckon I have done well if I see just one.

  3. Some lovely planting combinations and the flowers don’t look bashed by the rain where you are. The agapanthus is quite a dark blue and more unusual. Did Crocus not send you a label?!

    • I don’t think we’ve had much of the rain that other parts of the country have, though there’s a thin drizzle today, but nothing too battering. I picked up the agapanthus at the Crocus open day – half thinking it would be discounted for being unlabelled, but no such luck! I should have chosen a labelled one!

  4. I think certain shades of pink are really sneaky colours in the garden. You harden your heart to them, and then suddenly they go and work really well with something and get to stay after all.

    I also think that one of the best things that can happen in the garden is for a vision in your mind’s eye to suddenly become reality and not disappoint. You should be so proud of the way that you are coaxing a garden out of the wasteland you inherited, and the rudbekia with the sambucus is wonderful. Happy GBBD!

  5. Yes, I initially thought the pink of the larkspur was too candy sweet for my taste – I’m happier with the hot pinks or crisp pale pastels – especially compared with the lovely deep purple or pure white of the others from the same seed. But the plant has lovely structure, and seems to resonate with the colours around it rather well. I like surprises :-).

    I am pleased with the beginnings of our garden. Walking in the field at the weekend I saw it from another perspective and still liked what I saw too. Just wish there was time to reclaim the next bits of border and get some more plants into the ground. Everything seems to be straining at the leash in their pots…

    Happy GBBD to you too!

  6. Beautiful post…don’t you love when combinations work as well as you’d hoped! Love the Ammi and Echinacea…subtle and lovely!

  7. I love the Cosmos, it’s one of my favourite flowers but with the pesky rabbit damage repeatedly eating my seedlings mine are yet to flower (they are nearly there though), I’m hoping for a late display before the weather really goes downhill. Bethx

    • I agree, such lovely flowers. It’s the first time we’ve grown them and I don’t think we’ll ever be without them again, they add such lovely colour, height and movement to the garden. Sad that yours were munched. The seedlings I gave my mum were all munched too, somehow we seemed to escape here. Suspect the majority of slugs think we are still a building site and give us wide berth, one of these days they’ll all turn up for a garden-warming and we’ll be inundated from then on. You should have a good six weeks of flowers from your cosmos still, fingers crossed. x

Comments are closed.