GBBD – September 2011

Mid-September already, and the garden is still blazing with colour.

Cosmos abound in shades of pink and white, their tall stems swept by the wind, alongside sweet peas in both ornamental and kitchen garden. The three sedums rescued from the original garden, and all now finally restored into the ground, seem to be in different stages of bloom, their colours ranging from the first gentle flush of pink to the brightest depths as the flowers fully emerge.

Nigella seeds scattered mid-summer have made a late appearance among the pale pink larkspurs at the front of the border.

Their gentle blue sets off the sweet candy pink larkspurs and tempers it slightly, taking over where the borage left off.

The wonderful deep purple larkspurs continue to bloom on the outskirts of the clump of leucanthemum, which hang their shrivelled heads sadly. I keep meaning to deadhead these daisies as they are not graceful in their decline.

Two clumps of penstemon have leapt late into bloom. I think that both came from my mum’s garden; both the deep pink above and the cooler shade below have been rather outshadowed by the dizzying heights of the cosmos; next year I shall ensure that they have their own space.

I suspect that I will move one of these plants soon too, now that I have seen them bloom, as they stand too close for such clashing shades, and will fare better apart.

The rudbeckia (R. fulgida var. speciosa) are glorious, blazing against the dark background of the sambucus nigra. I shall certainly increase our range of yellows next year with some helenium and more rudbeckia; they light up the garden.

On the other side of the garden, one of the three cardoons that I raised from seed has put forth unexpected flower buds – another late bloomer. I hope that these emerge before the frosts into the purple splendour that we fell for last summer in the Painswick Rococo gardens, though the buds themselves are rather beautiful already.

The verbena bonariensis raised from seed and finally given reign in the borders is gently flowering on both sides of the garden. Behind these plants, captured from the terrace, the third and most fiery pink sedum blazes in the sunshine in the newest patch of border.

Xander enjoying the sunshine

I think that the next month could continue to see a few surprises while the weather holds; one of the half dozen young Japanese anemones that I have placed around the garden is showing its first bud; such coyness from this plant that I hope will be exuberantly throwing up many flowers from next summer through into autumn.

Elsewhere around the garden snapdragons smile in shades from deep velvety red, through soft pinks to pure white. Some annual asters cheer up pots in shades of pink, purple and white; valerian planted along the side of the house is flowering happily alongside purple hyssop and thyme, and there are repeat blooms on the yellow rose, and the rambling pink rose by the drive.

A few other late bloomers are unexpectedly emerging from the wings; I wonder whether they will show their faces in the next month…

Graciously hosted by May Dreams Gardens.

18 thoughts on “GBBD – September 2011

  1. Your sedums look wonderful. I love them too, and subsequently have quite a few in the borders and kitchen garden. They really come into their own at this time of year. Lovely photographs, and by the way am still very impressed with the size of your maincrop potatoes. Mine are nowhere that size!

    • Thanks. I’d like to add a couple of the purple sedums next year too, as they are also lovely.
      I was rather stunned by the size of our maincrop too, and their scab resistance and taste. We’ll be growing Desiree again next year, our favourite maincrop so far.

  2. Your Rudbeckias look lovely – a nice bit of warmth for our cooler than usual season. I was intrigued to see your Nigella, as I always associate it with the spring. Interesting to see a later sowing flowers in the same year – some food for thought for my garden…

    • Thank you, I love the Rudbeckias. Only two plants germinated from those I’d sown, but they add such warmth to the garden; I hope to increase them. The Nigella was a surprise. After scattering the seeds towards the end of the suggested sowing times ( I forget quite when) I had watched the leaves slowly emerge, and rather assumed that it would be too late for them to flower. May try two sowings next year to have them from spring through till autumn…

  3. Hi Sara, Happy GBBD – stunning rudbekias. You have so much colour, it is wonderful to see. I’ve rather fallen for that deep pink penstemon, perhaps in part because none of mine flowered this year, very disappointing. They don’t even have the excuse of being over run by cosmos!

    • Happy GBBD! The penstemon were a nice surprise, I’d almost forgotten them, swarmed as they were by cosmos and leucanthemum. Sorry that yours didn’t flower this year.

  4. Gosh you do have a lot in flower. I cant believe you still have sweet peas mine gave up the ghost weeks ago

    • The sweet peas were quite late to start flowering this year, surprised they’re still going though when I haven’t been deadheading them, and there are seed pods everywhere!

  5. Lovely flowers…I’m so glad I’m not the only one who thinks Leucanthemum are horrible once they fade…and still forgets to deadhead them 😉

    • Thanks. Yes, the leucanthemum don’t go gracefully at all. I almost started deadheading them the other day, but didn’t quite find the time or inclination…

Comments are closed.