Squash

Despite a slow start to their growth, which made me despair whether we would be harvesting any winter squash this year, there seems to be a range of fruits ripening in the garden at the minute.

Cornell's Bush Delicata

The single Cornell’s Bush Delicata plant, which has a compact habit as its name suggests, has some beautiful creamy/yellow fruits smartly striped in green. This is the first time we’ve grown this variety, but it is reputed to have good flavour.

Turk's Turban

Two Turk’s Turban plants, another new variety for us, sprawl rather more characteristically across the plot, with several deep golden fruit displaying the wonderful ‘nobbled’ bottom that they are renowned for. I must confess that it is as much for their beauty as their reputed taste that I am growing these this year!

Marina di Chioggia

The Marina di Chioggia plants, an heirloom variety, have beautiful marbled green-skinned fruits, which should darken and become more textured as they age. Another new variety for us this year, which I am looking forward to.

While I am just this month preparing the final fruit from last autumn’s Crown Prince harvest, which stored remarkably well in a cool room (with just one or two rather messy ‘explosions’ in late summer), this year’s plants sadly never settled in. Similarly the lone pumpkin plant never found its feet, so this autumn will see a very different harvest for us, but hopefully just as pleasurable.

And you would never know that the sprawling pumpkin patch was underpopulated this year, as its long arms grapple across in every direction.

6 thoughts on “Squash

  1. You have some interesting varieties there, I hope you will report on their flavour whether good or bad. I haven’t grown pumpkin or winter squash here as they take up such a lot of space that I can use for other more valuable crops but it is always good to know about special varieties that I won’t find in the shops. Happy harvest. Christina

    • Hi Christina, I shall certainly write an update on the squashes once they are harvested and sampled! They do take up quite a bit of space, but I wouldn’t be without them. One of the things I love about growing at home is harvesting beautiful fruits that you just can’t buy.
      Sara

  2. I’m glad I am not the only one to pick squash to grow for looks as much as anything… Mine are sprawling all over the place, I keep meaning to post about them, somehow I never quite get around to it.

    • I’m glad that I’m not alone! Ours have gone rampant about their patch, I can’t easily tell which arms belong to which plant until the fruits become recognisable. Look forward to seeing yours soon.

  3. Oh please – my squashes have rotted. Hrumpf. (Knew I’d just get discontented when I started catching up on blogs) And your varieties are wonderful. Still, at least I can start planning next year’s choice, and you’ve given me some good ideas. They look so wonderful…

    • Oh no!
      It’s definitely a strange year for squashes, half our plants never really got going – after a bountiful Crown Prince harvest last year (really recommend them, pretty and tasty!) we have none this year. And I did something stupid to the only pumpkin I suspect we would have had (very tasty, but picked rather small by mistake, ahem. Roasted it in chunks last night and it’s almost gone already.)
      Our summer squashes have been even worse – only had about 5 fruits from our single courgette plant, which is unheard of, and haven’t harvested anything from the yellow scallop. Though it finally has a few ping ball sized pale fruit, they don’t look very alluring yet.

Comments are closed.