Orange Tip

A week ago, in a short spell of sunshine, I paused at the kitchen sink when I saw an orange tip butterfly wheel past the window and alight on a clump of forget-me-nots in the border outside.

Orange tip butterfly on magenta Geranium cinereum Subcaulescens flower

He (for it is the male who has such vivid colouring) flitted from flower to flower, from the forget-me-nots to the Omphalodes, and then down the border to the alpine cranesbill (Geranium cinereum Subcaulescens)ย with its vivid magenta flowers. Here he spent some time feasting, as I wondered whether I would have time to run for my camera. After deliberating for some minutes, I could still glimpse a dab of vivid orange down the garden, so I took my chances and was pleasantly surprised to find him still there when I tiptoed out, camera in hand. He was remarkably obliging, posing for dozens of pictures, not even startling when the phone in my pocket began to ring shrilly a few feet away – or when I answered it.

What a shock of contrast between his wings and the magenta petals!

It’s the first time I’ve seen an orange tip in our garden, but hopefully not the last.

10 thoughts on “Orange Tip

  1. I’ve never seen an orange tip either; but don’t butteflies add such a lot to the garden, I love seeing all the ones I have here. you were lucky he was so co-operative, I spend ages trying to photograph mine. Christina

    • I love them (except those pesky cabbage-eating whites). Spent many hours last year taking umpteen pictures of red admirals and tortoiseshells on the buddleia.

    • Very lucky. I only saw my first orange-tip a few days before this as we walked down into the village, it was wonderful to be visited by one in the garden too.

  2. Hi,

    Congrats on the Orange-tip!
    I’ve seen them a few times here but I’ve never seen them stop in the garden for me to snap a photo ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Ah, they are stunning. I have a ridiculous number of photos of this one, though the focus isn’t quite right on most of them. Need more practice… ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I saw orange tip butterflies last year but they never settled anywhere long enough for me to photograph them. I’m going to try again although they don’t stay around long….

    • This is the first year I’ve noticed them around here. I couldn’t believe how obliging this one was, especially when I had a camera in its face while talking on the phone.. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.