Digging Again

Last weekend we toiled in the sun to create our last border in the garden; a semi-circle beneath the path that runs across the back of the house, below the kitchen window.

The new semi-circular garden border, sparsely planted

In pride of place is the beautiful Acer palmatum ‘Garnet’ that we bought at Malvern, with a summer backing chorus of three Dahlias that we are growing this year for the first time, which had been basking in the greenhouse for some weeks since I started them in pots.

Acer palmatum dissectum 'Garnet' mid-May

I have been continuing to add a few plants to this border most evenings this week, as well as stocking up the narrow beds in the front garden with restless seedlings from the greenhouse before they grow too lanky. Now we have officially run out of bits of garden to dig up.

New semi-circular garden border, sparsely planted

As I consider the dwindling patches of bare earth remaining in our borders, many of which will soon disappear without intervention as existing plants swell with summer vigour, and consider the seedlings in the greenhouse still to find homes, I’m starting to wonder whether they are rather mismatched. My dreams are indeed somewhat bigger than the bounds of our garden.

Semi-circular garden border, partially planted

I’ve already found myself editing our existing young plantings; replacing one of the sprawling purple honesty plants with a young Eupatorium rugosum ‘Chocolate’, and ruthlessly extracting corn poppies that last year I would have enjoyed, in order to squeeze higher priority plants in.

The outline of our garden is now complete; welcome to the wonderful world of colouring it in…

8 thoughts on “Digging Again

  1. I’m so glad it is all coming together as you hoped: there’s nothing as pleasurable as when the garden begins to look how you saw it in your minds eye. Christina

    • Thanks, Christina. It’s lovely to look out onto our fledgling garden, or walk around it, without too many eyesores. Still lots to do, but the main structure is finally pretty much complete.

  2. How satisfying to finish the border digging – I think mine is finished but I am about to embark on a large redigging of the front garden

    I like your Acer – however just be aware that young acers can get very wind dried and sun scorched, once it is established it will be fine. You probably know that but I didnt and lost one due to putting it in too exposed a site

    • Yes I’m aware that acers scorch easily, and alas until our hedges grow there’s not a sheltered spot in our garden, but we took a chance… that bed only gets morning sun, and the winds are slightly less severe there, but still sweep through, so we’ll have to cross our fingers. We have two other tiny acers in the borders that survived the winter, so hopefully this one will make the best of its situation too!

  3. That looks fabulous – what a lot of work, and how worth it!

    I second Helen’s comment about the acer – mine was so apparently dead that I planted a crinodendron next to it, cheerfully expecting to have to dig it up. However, it eventually recovered and I had to move the replacement. Hm.

    • We’re taking a bit of a gamble planting the acer there before the side hedges have grown enough to take the bite out of the winds, but if a peach tree can stand and bear fruit on this windswept hilltop, then hopefully the acer will be man enough too 😉

  4. “My dreams are indeed somewhat bigger than the bounds of our garden” ~ those words bought a wry smile to my face. Have fun colouring it in Sara 🙂

Comments are closed.