June Blooms

Mid-June, and despite cool temperatures, high winds and frequent showers, the garden is starting to simmer with colour.

Geranium sanguineum, Centaura montana, Alchemilla mollis and Antirrhinum 'Black Prince'

Antirrhinum majus ‘Black Prince’, raised from seed by my Mum last year, has overwintered in the garden to give a lovely display of dark velvety red flowers again.

First flower of Dianthus barbatus 'Nigricans'; Antirrhinum majus 'Black Prince' and Knautia macedonica

This deep red is one of my favourite colours, and recurs around the garden in the crimson buttons of scabious, and the first opening flowers of Dianthus barbatus ‘Nigricans’ raised from seed last spring.

The knautia picks out the red in the coats of the last blooms on the Aquilegia Red Hobbit, around which a riot of colour from a haphazard mix of snapdragons which also overwintered happily reflects the deep pink of the alpine geranium at their feet.

Mixed snapdragons, with Knautia macedonica and Geranium cinereum Subcaulescens

I would never have chosen this combination, but I cannot help smiling whenever I look at this little vignette, the two-tone orange and pink snapdragons are brash, but rather fun.

Viburnum plicatum Pink Sensation

Pinks, foxglove and Campanula punctata

These fiery colours are cooled with a cloud of palest pink from the viburnum, and splashes of white around the borders. The heady scent of cloves wafts deliciously from the pinks, which came from the Devon garden of one of my Nanna’s neighbours. The campanula was raised from seed for a variety named ‘Beetroot’ – alas this plant seems to have reverted to the species with white bells speckled with pink inside. Another couple of plants still to bloom will hopefully carry the deep pink tones I was expecting.

Linaria purpurea Canon Went

Linaria purpurea Canon Went

The linaria still leans at an impossible angle, though this doesn’t seem to deter the bees.

Rosa glauca and geranium macrorrhizum; Potentilla recta Sulphurea; Cerinthe major purpurascens

Flowering sage and centranthus ruber in the herb border

In the herb garden, a mix of pink and white Centranthus ruber spill onto the path, while one of the sages we use for cooking is covered in flowers and bees.

Geranium x magnificum with Alchemilla mollis; Geranium Orion with fuchsia; Geranium x magnificum with Lychnis flos-cuculi 'White Robin'

The blues of cranesbills around the garden pair well with various neighbouring plants.

Yellow rose, Sambucus nigra 'Black Lace'; emerging penstemon flowers

Astrantia, Eryngium Silver Ghost, Borage

Everywhere is a dizzying array of fresh blooms, or newly forming buds about to burst, with sweet scents carried on the breeze from pinks, nicotiana and oenethera. I ended up pulling out the tall stands of Hesperis matronalis that I grew from seed; a pretty enough plant with its own gentle scent, and in a bigger garden I would welcome it, but it was marching thuggishly through our small garden, beginning to elbow out more favoured plants.

The garden is truly blossoming, in spite of the inclement weather. In the greenhouse, flowers on the tomatoes and cucumber plants have already formed the first fruits, gently swelling, and it does not seem so far fetched that it is almost mid-summer.

Visit May Dreams Gardens for more mid-June blooms.

23 thoughts on “June Blooms

  1. I love to see what other people are growing and how their gardens are fairing in this dreadful weather. Yours looks as though it it coping well, thank you for sharing it.

  2. It’s reassuring to know that whilst we may be shivering and wet, the garden can still put on a good display. Like you I find there is something particularly attractive about deep red flowers. Perhaps it’s their opulence, even or maybe especially when they are used sparingly. I have to confess though that I treat Linaria as a weed. It pops up everywhere in my garden and doesn’t cooperate when I try to weed it out.

    • Dark red flowers do add something wonderful, don’t they, I love the velvety texture of the antirrhinums too, very striking plants. Linaria is fairly new to our garden, and I’m still rather taken with it. When I’m ripping out seedlings by the dozen perhaps it will slide down in my estimation… but at the minute I can’t imagine that!

  3. Beautiful post! I really love that dark red Antirrhinum…the color is so deep and sultry…and I’m a HUGE fan of Knautia…I would not be without it 🙂

    • Thanks, Scott. I’m thrilled that the Antirrhinum overwintered in our heavy Welsh clay, one of my favourites in the garden at the minute, along with the Knautia.

  4. It’s hard to think of this being Mid-Summer! I suppose though that some things are enjoying the extra moisture, and at least we haven’t had to do much watering yet.
    I share your love of the deep red colours. I think I might have to get some chocolate Cosmos.

    • Isn’t it?! We’ve even been lighting the fire some evenings, it’s so dank and chilly.
      I like chocolate Cosmos, we tried one in our last little garden but it wasn’t happy there, I should try again here.

    • Thanks Dave. Our knautia, which was planted last year, although it has been sending up occasional short flowers all winter(!), seems to have settled into a new stride in the past few weeks, with more, larger, taller flowers than before! Hope yours finds a similar pace soon too!

  5. Lovely to see the colours of your garden emerging…hopefully there will be no rain tomorrow in South Wales-at least that is what they are promising-so a chance to get out in mine and try to sort out the damage the wind and rain has caused…thank you for sharing your lovely flowers!

    • Thank you – we did manage a sunny Sunday in our bit of South Wales, it was wonderful to get out into the garden again in the sun, hope you enjoyed it too.

  6. I’m glad that I stopped by your June garden Sara as I debated whether to get some ‘Black Prince’ seeds and quite sadly decided not to. Will have to rectify that situation. Your pink sounds delicious – I thought that I had come away with cuttings from my mum’s white pink last year but must have not been concentrating at the time. She has a few pinks – my cuttings are flowering now but they are very pink.

    • Hi Anna, I really recommend these snapdragons, they have such sumptuous deep velvety flowers. The pink is really lovely, it sprawls a lot, but makes up for its ungainliness with that scent. Hope that you manage to get a white cutting next time!

  7. Thank you for sharing your lovely blooms. Your provide inspiration and encouragement for me to keep on going and trying to get different combinations– little here, little there, make such a grand display. I must try snapdragons!

    • Thank you for stopping by. I absolutely love the thrill that I get when a combination of plants (mostly accidental) seems to sing, the first shot is one of my favourite little views in the garden at the minute. Antirrhinums are great for low-maintenance shots of colour, easy from seed, and ours seem to overwinter, surprising in our wet heavy soil.

  8. I just love that deep velvety red too. Gorgeous in your antirrhinum. I have a similarly coloured Cuphea vienco, and hope to add a couple of dahlias in a similar shade to my autumn garden. Happy GBBD.

  9. Sara your plants look like they are enjoying the extra moisture though probably not the winds, love all your collages, cerinthe major purpurascens is beautiful, Frances

    • Thanks Frances, they seem to be coping admirably with spells of wet, but indeed the wind has given everything a distinct tilt, I’m forever trying to haul things upright that I never expected to have to stake. The cerinthe does have wonderful deep colours.

  10. You have very many of the same plants we grow up here and looking at your seasons in pictures your site looks very similar too, even though we are at the other end of Wales. I am impressed with the progress you have made in a short space of time too!

    • Ahhh, we must both have very good taste :). Not to mention being very lucky with our views!

      Our garden is very modest in size, so although we have made good progress – and I’m very pleased with it – that was helped by the manageable scale. I do envy the space you have though, for your winter garden and meadows and orchards etc. Maybe one day…

  11. Dizzying indeed and dazzling Sara- the bees must be drunk on the offerings here. Pretty pastels, clashing combos and the blood reds dripping with colour. So much of what you seed comes to fruition. A rejuventaing post for June – the wettest in a century.

Comments are closed.