Turning Point

Taking advantage of a few days’ leave from work, I managed to squeeze in a visit to Dyffryn Gardens on a beautiful sunny afternoon.

Dyffryn House and lawn

These gardens are almost starting to become a regular haunt, with most opportunities to squeeze in a visit quickly seized, though I haven’t visited in September before. While the ornamental borders were mostly beginning to go over, there were some stars still shining on.

Echinacea and achillea

Veronicastrum virginicum Alba

Rudbeckia pinnata

Pink gauraThe architecture of the house, gardens and various follies was as striking as ever.

Clocktower at Dyffryn

Turret

Dyffryn lawn from the side

But it was the trees that really stole the show – and my breath. On the cusp of falling towards autumn, the first Acer leaves were beginning to turn.

Canopy of Acer on the verge of autumn

Turning acer leaves

Acer turning

Elsewhere, woodland vistas and the contrasts between light and shadow on this early September afternoon were particularly striking.

Hydrangea in the woodland

Woodland canopy and glimpses of blue sky

Backlit leaves and branches

Silhouetted branches

Hollow-trunk tree

Trees and shadows

Pine needles

Silver birch in heather

On a weekday, the gardens were quieter than I have ever known them; a deep hush settled through much of the Arboretum when footsteps paused. What a splendid afternoon, and what an escape…

9 thoughts on “Turning Point

    • Thanks. The white spires are Veronicastrum virginicum Album, just starting to go to seed, which is on my must-get list, and the fourth flower picture was of beds of pink Gaura.
      If you hover your mouse over my photos, I’ve usually added a little info on what’s in them…

  1. I think I preferred your tree photos to your flower photos. My witch hazel has started to turn as has one of my sorbus. It definitely is beginning to feel autumnal

    • The trees looked magnificent; the light was wonderful. Our beech and horse chestnut trees have looked autumnal all summer, after the winds scalded all their leaves, but there is definitely a nip in the air now too, and a mistiness creeping in.

  2. Beautiful, Sara, your photos capture the atmosphere really well. You made me miss Westonbirt! Though at least we do have some trees on this bit of the Island. Where we lived before was to blasted by the wind for anything to grow about 6′, apart from willow! I am lusting after that white Veronicastrum, I keep seeing it. I even think I know where I could plant it…

    • Thanks, Janet. Hoping to visit Westonbirt for the first time this year, if I can tempt the hubby. Glad that you have some trees – I thought of you last week when we were in Tenby, and there were hydrangeas galore in most of the front gardens 🙂
      Ah yes the white Veronicastrum, I have had it in mind for a while now, think one will be coming our way shortly… I’d better start thinking where I’d put it!

Comments are closed.