First Frosts

Last weekend brought a heavy frost to our hilltop, painting the surrounding fields in white.

Frosty landscape

I wrapped up warm, and braced myself for an hour’s work, clearing the kitchen garden of over-run borage and calendula.

Frosted calendula Indian Prince flower

It was warm work, despite the icy air and frost-rimmed garden; my breath flew out in clouds of vapour as I cleared the beds. The borage plants were surprisingly large and heavy to dig out of the cold ground and heave into bags – we won’t make the mistake of composting them ourselves again!

Frosted leaves on grass

I tried to walk across the grass as little as possible, to avoid damaging it, though it was impossible to avoid entirely.

Frosted sedum heads

We had a christening to attend later in the day, not returning until night had fallen, so this stolen hour before the sun had risen far was the only chance I had to tackle the kitchen garden. Such a still sparkling morning, it was a pleasure to take advantage of what time I could outside before duty pulled me away.

Frost on alchemilla mollis flowers and leaves

Indoors, the unplanted tulip bulbs still patiently wait their own snatched opportunities: sadly I suspect the weather may not be on my side this coming weekend, but I hope…

20 thoughts on “First Frosts

  1. I felt chilled reading and looking at your post! I do hope the weather is on your side this weekend. Rain is also forecast here but this week has been wonderful. Christina

  2. beautiful photos Sara especially the frosted calendula photo, digging in frosted ground is hard I tried it once, it’s difficult when the weather doesn’t co-operate with availible time, here it has been rain for over a month and I have started taking quick moments in the garden even if it only stops raining for 15 mins, I know your high enough not to flood and I hope you have been able to get around alright, Frances

    • Thanks Frances, we’re very grateful to be on top of a hill! Managed to snatch a few dry hours in the garden today, thank goodness, and finally feel on top of things!

  3. What beautiful photos, but looking at them makes me chilly! Loved your description of your breath coming out in clouds. I hope you have nice weather so you can plant those tulip bulbs, and that the ground is not too hard.

    • Indeed, Saturday was a complete washout, and I did indeed find some time to curl up on the sofa with a book in front of the fire! Finally today the rain eased off for a few hours so I could go out and squelch about.

  4. I am getting to that point of the year where the jobs I wanted to do have been put more or less on the backburner until Spring and the gardening mags are coming out

    • I just had to get the last bulbs in – and the garlic – before I could relax. They were beginning to sprout in their bags. Other jobs will definitely have to wait for the spring – such as a few plants still to move or go into the ground.

  5. Brrrr. Beautiful shots Sara, I love the way a good frost creates magic in the garden and countryside. I saw frost on our grass and flat roofs the other day, the first time, but I have no idea whether, as I plan for winter interest, I will ever see frost-rimmed seedheads. Good luck with your tulips – I’ve still mine to plant too. Race you!!

  6. Brrrrrrrrrr ! Beautiful photos as always Sara. A strange happening though which I’ve not noticed before – the photos all go lighter if I move the cursor over them. I wonder whether it’s this particular browser. I’ve still got a pile of unplanted tulips too – not quite sure when they will be planted but I’m aiming for this side of the end of the year.

    • Thanks Anna.
      I’ve always seen that fading effect when moving my mouse over an image on wordpress (and it brings up the title hovering over too), it might be a browser effect.
      Fortunately I managed to plant my tulips out yesterday – I can breathe a little more easily now.

Comments are closed.