Porotos Granados

At the weekend, I made the River Cottage version of this Chilean squash and bean stew, using one of our stored Crown Prince squashes.

Crown Prince squash

The skins of our remaining Crown Prince squashes from last year’s harvest are starting to lose their steely blue colour, becoming almost ivory, but the flesh inside is still rich orange and honey-scented.

As a base for this soup, I first made a batch of vegetable stock from a mirepoix (the French holy trinity of cooking) of carrots, celery and homegrown onions as described in River Cottage Veg Every Day. The garlic and herbs in both stock and soup were also from our garden.

River Cottage vegetable stock recipe

This method quickly produced a sweet smelling, vivid orange stock; two thirds of which I set aside for this soup, while leaving the remainder to cool before freezing it for another occasion.

Homemade vegetable stock

With the stock made, I prepared the soup; starting with more homegrown onions, to which I added a mix of pinto and French beans, sweetcorn, broccoli and the cubed squash, among other ingredients.

Making soup

The resulting soup was warming and delicious; a hearty meal for a cool winter’s day.

Porotos Granados soup

14 thoughts on “Porotos Granados

  1. Now, what I want to know is did the “other ingredients” include any chillis – and if not, why not?! That soup just cries out for chillies! 🙂

    • No, though funnily enough I did think about it at the time. The only change I made to the recipe as written was throwing in broccoli along with the French beans. Next time there may be chillis too…

    • Winter squashes are harvested just before the first frosts – these were picked in early October, so have only stored for three months. You can usually hope for 3-6 months in a cool dark place, and sometimes longer – in fact I used up my last one from the previous year in August, so it had stored well for 10 months, though it was very hard to cut into, and the flesh was a little less juicy.

  2. Sounds delicious. I love soups when the weather is cold. Could you give more information about how you made the stock. I need a quick recipe for making quick vegetable stock. Christina

    • Thanks. The key to this quicker stock recipe was grating the onion, carrot and celery. I sauteed them for five minutes with garlic, thyme, peppercorns and a bay leaf, then added boiling water from the kettle before simmering for ten minutes. If the vegetables were in bigger pieces, this would need to simmer for at least 30 minutes.

  3. Mmmmmmmm – now that looks seriously tasty. I did not get a single squash last year but my allotment neighbour gave me one of his – I gave him the plant as a seedling 🙂 I have been eying it up and a soup may well be its destination.

    • Sad that your squashes failed – I think we were very lucky last year by all accounts. There are a lot of good soup recipes for squash; a very versatile ingredient.

  4. That looks lovely. I love making my own veg stock. I did a veggie cooking course a few years ago where they showed us a really simply stock and ever since I’ve made up big batches for freezing so much better than shop bought. I only managed a few squashes this year but loved them so I’m hoping to grow some more this year and that the weather will be a bit more conducive to squash growing.

    • Thanks.
      I like to make veg stock when I find the time, though must confess more often than not I tend to reach for the bouillon instead for an instant fix. This was a new – and quicker – method for me, and the resulting stock looks and smells quite different. Think it will become my go-to method, and hopefully I can build up a stash in the freezer too.
      Fingers tightly crossed for a better squash year ahead. We were lucky to harvest eight fruits last year, but from nine plants that wasn’t much of a hit rate!

  5. Yummy. I do like that quick veg stock recipe, it means there is no excuse to avoid making soup because “oh, but I haven’t any stock”! That soup looks like a winner, if I get round to growing squash I might give it a whirl next year. I suppose if I grow trailing squahs and train them up the supports for the apple espaliers which will be mere sticks for most of this year, that could work… Mmmm, so much to think about…

    • The stock recipe is ideal, and the soup very tasty. We trailed our squashes up a sturdy wigwam of logs last year, with good success; your espalier supports sound perfect for borrowing…

Comments are closed.