Golden Trumpets

Our Rijnveld’s Early Sensation daffodils were sparkling in the sunshine today.

Early daffodils along the roadside

Early daffodils along the roadside

With blue skies and hardly a breath of wind, it was a perfect February day: a welcome change after the recent torrents of rain and fierce winds.

Daffodil 'Rijnveld's Early Sensation'

Daffodil 'Rijnveld's Early Sensation' flowers

These golden trumpets against a blue sky make such a glorious combination.

Daffodil 'Rijnveld's Early Sensation' flowers

20 thoughts on “Golden Trumpets

  1. Really lovely photos. We have snow today, I’d say 3 or 4 inches have fallen. I have not kept track of my daffodil varieties, this one looks very familiar so I will have to check when they come up if I have this.

  2. Hi,

    Lovely photos; you’re making me wish I have more Daffs now! I generally don’t plant them and then always regret it in spring when they look so cheerful and brighten other gardens except my own πŸ™‚
    Definitely a welcome sight, and the sky was gorgeous today – if a little chilly!

  3. Great daffodils, but the real surprise is the blueness of that sky – and in February too! I don’t have any daffs flowering yet, so there must be some advantages in your windswept hilltop location.

  4. They are just the shot of colour we all need at this time of year. Beautiful. No daffs flowering in my garden yet but i can see the buds swelling on tete a tete.

  5. I have some nice plump buds on my daffs but no sign of flowers yet – the snowdrops are only just opening!!

    • It is funny to have daffs before snowdrops isn’t it? I shan’t complain though, they are so sunny. Our snowdrops have only been opening for a week too.

  6. What a cheerful glow from those daffs. I have just the one out so far πŸ™‚ We had the blue skies and sunshine yesterday but there was a most cruel wind.

  7. These are lovely photographs of your daffodils; they look very striking against a blue sky. I always have the same dilemma every year with daffs; whether to pick them and brighten up the house – or leave them growing outside and cheer up the garden.

    • Thank you. I can’t bring myself to pick these, unless they are felled by the winds – at the minute that is quite likely, I’m amazed they are standing up so well to the assaults on them so far.

Comments are closed.