Savour

We are currently enjoying one of my favourite crops of summer.

Two cobs of homegrown sweetcorn

Homegrown sweetcorn

Plump, succulent cobs of sweetcorn; picked, trimmed and plunged straight into boiling water for three minutes, before serving with a little butter. Absolutely delicious. This seems to be a good year for sweetcorn – I am hugely thankful that King of the Hill had the presence of mind to sow the seeds for these back in the spring while I was laid rather low with morning sickness.

15 thoughts on “Savour

  1. Sweet corn is one thing that really can’t be beaten as a garden crop, it never tastes the same if you don’t pick it and eat it within half an hour. We can’t even buy it here (it’s considered a crop for the animals) so I have to grow it.

  2. Mmmmm! Glad to read that KOH saved the day. I did not get my seeds in early so they have a way to go yet. Have noted some gigantic plants on the allotment site this year. Interested to read Christina’s comment as my dad grew up on a farm here in the 1930s. He always refused to eat sweetcorn as an adult as he said it was grown specifically for animal feed and not for human consumption. We were never able to convince him that he was missing out.

    • Something to look forward to later in the summer 🙂 Our local farms grow a different kind of maize for cattle feed too, but it doesn’t put me off enjoying our sweetcorn. 🙂

  3. That definitely looks like nice corn – the cobs are really well filled. I agree with you on the best way to eat them; we usually eat corn on its own (often as a Lunchtime meal) rather than with other food, so that the lovely flavour is not confused by other things.

  4. The only reason I can be gracious and admire your crop is that our cobs appear to be ripening nicely 😉 Hard to beat freshly picked sweet corn, cooked immediately, smothered in butter and black pepper. Drool…

  5. Looks and sounds absolutely delightful – well done to King of the Hill! I had to smile at Anna’s comment as my Dad was exactly the same with mackerel, having grown up in a fishing town

Comments are closed.