Glimpse

This autumn is flying past; amid the frenzy of feeding, nappies and snatched sleep we catch glimpses of the garden in its seasonal splendour.

Autumn leaves

Please excuse the pictures, which are hurried snapshots taken with my phone.

Red autumn foliage of Euonymus alatus

Our three small Euonymus alata have been resplendent in scarlet; the last clinging leaves still pack a fiery impact amidst the tawny tangle of branches around them. They should look magnificent in the years to come, as they grow.

Autumn colour of Virurnum opulus Roseum

The snowball bush, Viburnum opulus ‘Roseum’, is displaying a lovely palette of colours. So too the dogwoods, ‘Midwinter Fire’, which are still holding onto their now golden leaves, and an unknown variegated plant grown from a cutting, whose foliage has fallen to leave striking dark red stems.

Cornus sanguinea Midwinter Fire

Dark red stems of dogwood

Acers are always among the strongest performers at this time of year; the flaming crimson leaves of our Acer palmatum dissectum ‘Garnet’ are long gone now, but the butterfly acer is still vividly aflame at the front of the border.

Autumn acer foliage in mixed border

Here and in the kitchen border, the self-sown seedlings of the annual grass Briza maxima are a vivid green mass, that make it seem as though the lawn is reclaiming the border although they are a brighter green than this – I must thin these out before spring, assuming they aren’t wiped out by a harsh winter: this year the self-sown plants rather swamped the borders.

Rose flowering in winter

I love the sunny optimism of this rose in the front garden, whose flowers cluster on top of a long wayward vertical stem. Such a tall stem should be cut down really before the wild winter winds tear the plant apart. I can’t bear to touch it while it is in full flower though!

Baby boyOur beautiful bright-eyed boy loves to be held by the kitchen window where he can watch the leaves and branches dancing against the sky outside; I can’t wait to watch him begin to explore his garden kingdom in the months ahead. In the meantime, a bag of tulip bulbs is still languishing by the kitchen doors; planting them is not something I can easily accomplish with a small boy in my arms, or even worn in a sling across my chest … perhaps I can snatch ten minutes from King of the Hill at the weekend to hop out and plunge them into a pot at least! The gardening magazines are stacking up unread too. One of these days …

18 thoughts on “Glimpse

    • Thanks Christina, I didn’t mention the constant cuddles, which are very special indeed. We’re enjoying getting to know each other! Gardening is definitely taking a backseat at the minute – I don’t want to think about how many blog posts I have to catch up with in my reader, yours included I’m afraid!!

  1. I’m glad to hear that you are enjoying parenthood – although as you have found out it can be very hard work! The garden can wait…
    You know I am also a fan of Dogwoods. I have a variegated one called “Gauchaltii”, which might possibly be the one you have. I find its foliage is lovely, but the stem colour is less impressive than most of the others.

    • Thanks Mark. I think our unknown dogwood may be Cornus alba Elegantissima. It has vivid dark red stems which are almost as impressive as the Midwinter Fire, and its variegation is white, rather than gold – very pretty.

  2. I’m impressed you have had time to even notice autumn, let alone snatch photos and put a post together!! Love the glimpse of your (admittedly sleep-deprived) life, with your bright-eyed boy in his lovely blanket. Enjoy every second, blink and he’ll be kicking up the leaves while you plant tulips out there! xxx

    • Thanks, Janet. We’ve had a few nice walks in the autumn sunshine, which have been lovely – time to notice the world outside then! Can’t believe how fast he is growing already, we had our first smiles this week xxx

  3. Won’t be too many years before your boy can help with the tulip planting, Sara. I’m quite fond of being “held by the kitchen window where (I) can watch the leaves and branches dancing against the sky outside” myself. D

  4. as others have said enjoy your time with your bright eyed son, before you know it he will be planting tulips with you, though some father and son time would be good too, beautiful photo of him,
    lovely colour in your garden, your dark red stems look like my common dogwood/cornus alba stems perhaps a variegated form, Frances

    • Thanks Frances, he’s growing so fast already, I can’t believe how quickly time is flying past! I agree that our red-stemmed dogwood is likely a form of Cornus alba.

  5. The unplanted tulip bulbs still languish here Sara along with the pile of unread gardening mags and I haven’t got the perfect excuse that you have. Your little man looks full of curiosity and wide – eyed wonder and you must be so happy getting to know him. He’ll be donning his first pair of gardening wellies come spring and weeding by summer.

    • I managed to plunge my bulbs into a pot while my Mum was cuddling the little man 🙂 He is truly our pride and joy, we are loving getting to know him. Can’t wait to be chasing him around the garden 🙂

  6. Wow. I think it’s amazing you’ve even noticed autumn and kept up with the blog. Gorgeous photos and I’m sure there’s a budding plant lover in the making there and just think in a few years time an extra pair of gardening hands. 😉

    • It is hard to take our eyes off the little one, especially as he is growing so fast! Nice to get out in the sunshine though, and I am faintly aware of the garden out there … 🙂 Looking forward to choosing seeds with him and having his help in planting, tending and picking…

Comments are closed.