Sweet Dumpling

Not another gratuitous reference to our baby boy, you may be relieved to know…

Sweet Dumpling squashes

With our first frost predicted at the start of this week, on Sunday we gathered in the last squashes from the garden: four small but beautifully striped and speckled Sweet Dumpling squashes, grown on a whim from free seed acquired from a magazine or family, I forget which! They were brought straight up to the house, along with the larger butternut, Crown Prince and Turks Turban harvests that had been hardening off in the greenhouse for a month or so since picking.

Last harvests

Onions and shallots that had been languishing drying out in the greenhouse were also rescued, along with handfuls of the last tomatoes, mostly still green. We have always tended to grow larger squash varieties, I’ll be interested to see how these smaller fruits compare in the kitchen. They certainly look attractive.

19 thoughts on “Sweet Dumpling

  1. I’ll be interested to know what you think of yours when you cook them. I usually butternut squash for flavour and texture, this year I also grew some Golden Nugget, which were a useful addition to roast vegetables even during the summer when they weren’t quite ripe. Once they were ripe they were so hard it was a battle to get the flesh and as there isn’t so much flesh anyway I wouldn’t recommend them. I might know one plant for an early chop to pick and eat before they are fully ripe.

    • That’s really disappointing, hope these fare better! I was thinking of scooping out the seeds and roasting or baking them fairly whole, to avoid fiddling around too much. Will report on how we find them when we have the chance to experiment.

  2. I shall try small squashes next year since I ended up freezing several of my large butternuts. Each one provided enough for four meals or dinner for eight which was fine if the timing was right. Those are very pretty images.

    • Some of our bigger squashes from last year ended up rotting a month or two ago, as I was keeping them for a suitably big occasion, that never quite materialised. Smaller ones shouldn’t suffer from this, as they’ll be easy to share between two (three?!) of us in one sitting, no fanfare required!

  3. I cooked a “Harlequin” squash the other day. I looked very like those “Sweet Dumpling”. I found the flesh very much denser than Butternut, and much less sweet, though I suspect “Sweet Dumpling” is so called for a reason! The Harlequin had a distinctly nutty flavour. I cooked it with the skin on, and ate the whole thing. I liked it.

  4. Oh but you can make as many references to the little one as you wish Sara 🙂 Those ‘Sweet Dumplings’ look most attractive. I hope that they taste as good as they look. I was admiring my one and only ‘Black Futso’ earlier today. It has now ripened and will be turned into soup in the next week or so. I first came across it featured on your blog a couple of years ago or so. It’s certainly not as pretty 🙂

  5. I expected a baby reference too! I grew some mini squashes last year after reading about winter squash on your blog and again this year – I like the little ones for their practical size and last year either roasted whole or cut open and used the flesh. Incidenatlly the Poppet (6month g/d) had sweet potato for the first time this week and loved it so squash could be promising for your little dumpling.

  6. I grew sweet dumpling last year. They look very good but I found them too sweet unfortunately. I cut out sugar from my diet a few years ago and only have it in small quantities now. The result though is everything tastes much sweeter to me now than it would have done a few years ago. They could be really good for making cakes or maybe a pumpkin pie though. Would be interested to see what you think of their flavour. 🙂

    • Interesting – I’ve reduced my processed sugar intake (though not quite omitted it completely) during most of the pregnancy and still since birth, but I have rather a sweet tooth, so it will be intriguing to see how I find the taste – will report back!!

Comments are closed.