Looking Up

Pushing our little one (LO) through the spring sunshine this morning, I couldn’t help but notice this large furry husk on the path in front of me.

Discarded bract of Magnolia campbellii Lanarth

Unmistakeably the discarded bract from a magnolia, I stopped and looked up – and there above and just behind us was the most magnificent magnolia in full bloom, resplendent with large cerise flowers; Magnolia campbellii ‘Lanarth’.

Magnolia campbellii Lanarth in bloom

Magnolia campbellii Lanarth in bloom

 

What a beautiful spectacle against the vivid blue skies!

Magnolia campbellii Lanarth in bloom

Magnolia campbellii Lanarth in bloom

Hidden on our approach, it was just one discarded bract at my feet that drew my attention around us and skywards, highlighting the importance of looking up (as well as paying attention to the details when looking down)! The bright colours in the spring sunshine made my heart sing… Though I love all the plants of this genus, this must be one of the most beautiful Magnolias I’ve seen yet.

14 thoughts on “Looking Up

  1. You prompted me to go to the window and two doors along a huge sprawling magnolia is smothered in deep pink buds not quite open but clearly free of all husks. It’s early but a really joyful sign of Spring!!!

  2. Spectacular! I love magnolias. Fingers crossed for no frosts. It’s always such a pity to see the flowers turned to brown mush. There are some incredible magnolias at Batsford Arboretum, if you’re ever in that area. 🙂

Comments are closed.