A Glimpse of Wisley

As well as the wonderful meadows of Camassia that I posted about yesterday, our recent visit to RHS Wisley was full of spring magic.'Spring Green' Tulips at RHS Wisley

From the striking mass plantings of Tulipa ‘Spring Green’ on the top terrace…

'Spring Green' Tulips at RHS Wisley

… to the riot of tulips block-planted in the Hilltop Borders;

Tulips at RHS Wisley

where my eye was particularly caught by the sultry ‘Vincent Van Gogh’, midnight petals bespeckled with tiny gold stars and subtle streaks of scarlet,

Tulip 'Vincent Van Gogh' at RHS Wisley

The rhododendrons throughout the gardens were, of course, splendid; from the blousy blooms in rich magentas, purple and pinks

Rhododendrons at RHS WisleyRhododendrons at RHS Wisley

through softer yellows and pinks to soothing clouds of white.Rhododendron at RHS Wisley

Even the ferns were resplendent in their fresh spring finery.

Ferns at RHS Wisley

And, as you know, I can never resist a snap of Molly-the-witch in her moment of glory,Paeonia mlokosewitschii flower

Our own young Molly is far from reaching her full potential on this scale, yet is displaying the most foliage so far this year.

Foliage of young Peony Molly-the-witch

With the mixed borders at Wisley still in the infancy of this year’s growth, it was a great opportunity to admire the handicraft employed in weaving various plant supports, art-forms that will soon disappear beneath the weight of herbaceous growth.

Woven plant supports in the herbaceous borders at RHS Wisley

The vegetable garden looked neat and tidy with the young crops in orderly rank and file as usual; full of promise to come.

Spring vegetables at RHS Wisley

These snapshots are but a taste of the ample delights of these flagship gardens – and of course no visit would be complete without a spin around the well-stocked Plant Centre, and an obligatory purchase; more on which to follow!

10 thoughts on “A Glimpse of Wisley

  1. I rather like the border of uniform grass in the second photo too, I do not usually like formal plantings but there is something that attracts me, the tulips all look beautiful too, thanks for sharing Sara, sounds like you had a good trip, I look forward to seeing what you came home with, Frances

    • I agree; the tulips and grasses on the top terrace were very tastefully planted. It was a fun trip with my family, I’ll report on the new purchase when I have a chance!

  2. Wisely always has something of interest. The Spring Green tulips are beautiful and beautifully planted. I wasn’t so keen on the blocks of other tulips.

    • It was useful to see the other tulips in blocks side-by-side to get an idea of relative size/colour etc. of different types, many that I’ve not seen growing before in the flesh. I’m not sure it was intended to be a well-thought out piece of planting – if it was then I’m with you!

  3. Oooh, I like the look of Vincent Van Gogh’, very sultry! The perfection of the veg garden is a little intimidating though… Wonderful plant supports, I try to avoid plants that need staking, but if I could weave structures like that I’d be tempted to indulge…

    • I console myself that you can only have such a well-ordered veg garden if you have a team of gardeners 🙂 I think I will have to add some Vincent Van Gogh in the autumn, they were really splendid.

  4. Wow some glorious splashes of colour there especially the rhodos. The plant supports in the veggie garden look most attractive. Like Janet suggests it’s all extremely neat and pristine. I think that there’s nothing down for me. Trip to the allotment yesterday revealed emerging potato foliage but I had not managed to plant in a straight line!

Comments are closed.