Strewn

On a recent visit to Dyffryn Gardens, just west of Cardiff, on a fairly dull day, I was mesmerised by the carpet of pink petals strewn across the ground beneath a venerable Cercis siliquastrum, carpeting a lovely set of stone steps.

carpet of Cercis siliquastrum petals on floor

carpet of Cercis siliquastrum petals on floor

carpet of Cercis siliquastrum petals on floor

Despite this liberal covering, there was still plenty of blossom left in the tree too.

Cercis siliquastrum flowers

5 thoughts on “Strewn

    • A lovely tree, I waver between it and Cercis canadensis Forest Pansy on my “if I had a bit more room…” list. I had no idea the flowers were so abundant!

  1. They are native here in Indiana and very common. When they bloom in spring along the edge of the woods, it is breathtaking.

Comments are closed.