Indoor Outdoor

I’m quite intrigued at the comparison between my Salvia ‘Kate Glen‘ plants; two of which have overwintered in the garden, while the other I potted up and kept in our unheated greenhouse.

Salvia Kate Glen foliageThis is the one in the greenhouse, replete with lush spring growth; its leaves uniform in colour and shape.

Salvia Kate Glen foliage

By contrast, here is one of the plants in the garden – here the new growth is flushed with pink (not to mention rather nibbled around the edges).

It will be interesting to see whether they continue to differ as the season continues; I expect to return the greenhouse plant to the garden in a month or so when the soil has warmed up.

The most exciting thing, mind you, is that all three plants have come through the winter intact, regardless of their level of coddling. I wonder whether last year’s Echinacea is going to stage a return soon…

6 thoughts on “Indoor Outdoor

  1. I have two plants of culinary Purple Sage, both of which are in similar pots. They have been outside all Winter. One seems fine, and is springing into leaf; the other seems completely dead. I wonder what makes the difference.

    • Not the weather presumably? There are so many variables, one plant may just have been weaker I suppose (though it may still come back and surprise you!)

  2. I wouldn’t know from plant to plant, variety to variety, but sometimes plants which stay outside during the winter grow more woody and that gives them a head start over the cosseted ones because they are of less interest to slugs.

    • That is indeed the trouble with greenhouse -wintered plants, they’re tender and tasty! But salvias can be temperamental here – Caradonna and Amistad haven’t returned after a winter yet – so I wanted to be sure at least one of these made it this year!

  3. Sara I’m interested in your saying you have lost salvias in winter as I have also, I thought it was due to being so far north but am now wondering if it is more the wet west, the only one that has stayed is Salvia verticillata ‘Purple rain’, I have stopped buying them as I don’t have a greenhouse to over winter and the windows in my little side porch are small so only allow for a few pots, glad all 3 of yours survived, I’ve read that cold can turn leaves purple/patches of purple, Frances

    • I think wet is indeed more of a threat to many salvias than cold. I must try S.v. Purple Rain if that one returns for you. The leaves on my outdoor Kate Glen are almost entirely green now, the colouration seems to be a temporary feature, probably from cold as you say.

Comments are closed.