Punch

Pinch punch, the first of the month… and Happy St David’s Day to one and all from not-so-sunny South Wales.

2017_03-4

As March unfurls its wings, I am enjoying the blooms which are spreading through the garden, mostly low in the borders: pulmonaria (especially the electric blue of ‘Blue Ensign’, which defies my attempts to capture its hue in such gloomy weather); hellebores in pale pink, pale primrose yellow and deepest plum; primroses; snowdrops and narcissi, not to mention the Cyclamen coum ‘Maurice Dryden’ that have begun to spread pleasingly around the base of our old birch tree.

2017_03-3

As I drew closer to our ornamental dwarf cherry, Prunus incisa Kojo-no-mai, in a container on the patio, I realised with pleasure that the first flowers were beginning to open already. Reaching in to remove a couple of skeletons of last year’s fallen leaves ensnared in the branches, I found that one leaf had been punched through and held in place by the new growth of the cherry’s spring buds, an intriguing sight.

2017_03-2

A real punch of colour this week comes from a handful of unexpected irises in a delicious deep red-purple colour. These have sprung up amid a collection of last year’s bulbs that my Mum gave me over the summer. The obvious tulips and daffodils went into one of our kitchen garden beds, and I planted up two containers with what seemed to be Muscari bulbs. Amid the sea of their bobbly buds pushing up through the soil have blazed these rather lovely irises, whose identity my Mum cannot recall. I presume some form of Iris reticulata…

2017_03-1

Buds are emerging everywhere with each passing day; I do love this tumultuous cascade of returning life as spring begins to find its pace.

 

9 thoughts on “Punch

  1. Love all the spring bulbs don’t you? Iris reticulata don’t always want to flower for a second year, perhaps they like being disturbed.

  2. Happy St Davids Day. My other half is still recovering from the rugby even though the teddy bear mascot in full team colours was sat in front of the TV!

  3. Iris and crocus make for bright splashes of colour to vary the whites and yellows of snowdrops and narcissus. I also grow them in pots on the patio. Easier to see from the warm indoors.

    • I’d like to add some chionodoxa too for a bright splash of blue. It’s great to have some spring bulbs on the patio to admire from the warm 🙂

Comments are closed.